Anton Amann Award

The Anton Amann Award carries the name of the founder and inaugural chairman of IABR, Prof. Anton Amann (*1956–2015†, Bregenz – Innsbruck, Austria) and was established in 2015 to recognise outstanding achievements in breath-related research.

Anton Amann

Award Statutes

    1. The Anton Amann Award was established in 2015 by the International Association of Breath Research (IABR) to recognise outstanding achievements in breath-related research. The award is named in honour of IABR’s founder and inaugural chairman, Prof. Anton Amann (1956–2015†, Bregenz – Innsbruck, Austria). The benefactors of the award are the Polish Chemical Society, Marco Freek, Esq. (IABR Executive Director, Austria) and Prof. Boguslaw Buszewski (Poland).
    2. The Anton Amann Award is conferred to scientists, engineers or physicians who have made an outstanding contribution to the field of breath research. Achievements can be theoretical and/or practical, with emphasis on the development of methodologies for determining potential biomarkers of human disease states or the discovery and explanation of biochemical mechanisms thereof.
    3. The recipient will be selected by a specially-established Award Board comprising the benefactors Prof. Buszewski (Chairman) and Mr. Freek (Secretary), the IABR chairperson, chair-elect, and past-chair, the chair of the current IABR summit, and the editor-in-chief of Journal of Breath Research (IOP Publishing, UK). Voting is carried out anonymously via an electronic voting system. Legal recourse is excluded. Services and activities of the candidate relating to IABR are an integral aspect in evaluating the nominated candidates.
    4. The Anton Amann Award can be conferred to an individual only once.
    5. In exceptional and justified cases, the Award may be conferred to more than one nominee in a given year.
    6. The Medal Laureate will present a lecture during the upcoming conference/meeting organized under the auspices of the IABR (the IABR Breath Analysis Summits).
    7. The candidatures must be nominated by a registered member of IABR. The deadline for such a nomination is 3 months before the upcoming conference. Nominations should be sent to the secretary of the Award Board and the Chair of the IABR, stating the reasons for the nomination, including references to selected publications of the nominee. The nomination document must not exceed one page, including references.
    8. The award is presented by the IABR Chair or the Chairman and/or Secretary of the Anton Amann Award Board during the IABR conference of that year.

Past recipients

  • 2019 Terence Risby, Johns Hopkins University Department of Environmental Health Sciences, Baltimore, MD, USA
  • 2018 Jane Hill, Thayer School of Engineering, Hanover, NH, USA
  • 2016 Lars Gustafsson, Karolinska Institute, Sweden and Pawel Mochalski, Breath Research Institute, Dornbirn, Austria
  • 2015 Julian King, Breath Research Institute, Dornbirn, Austria

IABR Membership

Become a member of the International Association of Breath Research and help to support the association. Members in good-standing will be eligible for a reduced registration fee for the official IABR Breath Summit conferences.